The EEA Grants and Norway Grants are Iceland, 

Lichtenstein and Norway,s contribution to 

reducing economic and social disparities 

in the European Economic Area and to the 

strengthening of the bilateral relations 


the 16 beneficiary states in the Central, Eastern 

and Southern Europe.

The EEA and the Norway Grants belong to those 

sources of funding that emphasize sharing and 

exchange of experience between and among 


In programming period 2009–2014 the Czech 

Republic distributed funding amounting to 


CZK 3,5 billion. The grants were 

allocated to, among others, projects in the field 

of science and research, health, civil society, 

culture, environment, promotion of gender 

equality, social inclusion, and improved quality 

of care for vulnerable children and the youth. 

The donors also 

supported improved Schengen 

cooperation in combating cross-border and 

organized crime.